P1000 Why do I need a second battery?

F

fsk1290

Oct 30, 2020
Grant, FL
Ownership

1. 1000-5
There are a million threads about installing a second battery. As a newbie I'm asking why are you installing one?? So you can run lights, radio, winch without engine on?? I installed a 700w sound bar and sure it would be nice to listen to music without the engine on. So how long will my stock battery last?? So now I gotta install a battery??

Reactions: TxDoc
JenElio

JenElio

NTC's NoMo Chupacabra Caliente!!....
Lifetime Member
Oct 31, 2019
Loxahatchee, florida
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5
I'm no expert but from what I've gathered, the DCT needs a certain steady voltage to function 100%. If for what ever reason voltage drops its no bueno for it 🤷‍♂️

JenElio

JenElio

NTC's NoMo Chupacabra Caliente!!....
Lifetime Member
Oct 31, 2019
Loxahatchee, florida
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5
And for things like you mentioned, running accessories while engine off, etc. If you isolate both batteries then you can always count on one of them to be charged when you need to crank it over again. No "dead in the in the water" scenario

Vikes79

Vikes79

SKOL!
Lifetime Member
Jul 18, 2018
South Dakota
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon X4 LV
It’s more to protect the main electrical system than any thing else.

My second batt system is setup for key on only. My source of tunes is a Bluetooth bottle speaker and my phone.

my isolator protects the main battery from overdrawing and causing the funny electrical gremlins that pop up when the voltage drops.

F

fsk1290

Oct 30, 2020
Grant, FL
Ownership

1. 1000-5
And for things like you mentioned, running accessories while engine off, etc. If you isolate both batteries then you can always count on one of them to be charged when you need to crank it over again. No "dead in the in the water" scenario