P1000 How to tie down in trailer

Crow_Hunter

Crow_Hunter

May 18, 2016
Riding a Canned Ham.
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Just about there. :)

What do you guys use/do to tie your P1000 into your trailers?

On my Rincon I always use 4 ratchet straps and tie into the foot pegs.

I have never tried to trailer anything this big before though. Do you guys use tire bonnets or ratchet straps?

Where do you hook on?

Thanks!

D

dillonhart

Jun 10, 2016
shreveport, LA
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I have been trailering my P1k5 for the past few weeks and also am intrested in everyones reponse. So far it seems the biggest issue is the lack of parking brake, so getting the bike to not roll any has been the issue (rolling makes the straps loose, i have tried lots of straps). i am not a fan of using the winch as part of securing the bike to the trailer, but maybe im wrong.

sharp

sharp

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jan 27, 2016
Tennessee
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I use ratchet straps on the front bumper, and on the back I use one of those longer thick ratchet straps and hook it on one side of the trailer then around the hitch on the rig then to the other side if the trailer. Tire bonnets are good too.

vince

vince

Lifetime Member
Dec 5, 2015
vidor texas
Ownership

1. 1000-5
20160407 185729

Crow_Hunter

Crow_Hunter

May 18, 2016
Riding a Canned Ham.
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Cool!

Does it have a minimum tensile strength/strap width requirement? I need to buy fresh ones anyway, my wife left mine in the bed of the truck for a while and I didn't notice since she drives it all the time.

The momentum is building. I just emailed my wife and told her that should the Craigslist guy not actually flake out tonight and buys the Rincon, I was going to get a P1000.

Since she said that all she wanted for her birthday this year was for me to make up my mind and actually get a SXS, I bet she will hold me to it.

Reactions: 500

May 14, 2015
Ownership

1. 1000-5