P1000 First real ride

Revtech100

Revtech100

Lifetime Member
Aug 5, 2016
Anchorage, AK
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I took the new kid out for her first real ride caribou hunting. My impression is this baby is a refined beast. I was just blown away. I've been riding a Polaris XP since 2009 along with a can am 650 two up XP.

I ran about 35 miles in from Eureka. Saw nothing. No one else did, so really no hunting. Just looking. I did a total of about 70 please plus miles.

The P1000 was a beast. It ran flawlessly. Never lacked power. I never got out of AT mode. Even coming back up from the Little Nel to Monument, which is the steepest route I've ever done. I buried it once at the river due to my stupidity but the winch took it right out. High centered it.

No heat issues, but the temperature was in the mid 60's. The transmission did its clunking noise but after about 60 miles on the odo, it started getting less noticeable. No clutch slippage. Thank god I snorkeled and vented it. I did probable 50 plus water crossings. I was comfortable the entire day and no issues in that area. Power steering was great.

Two issues and both minor. The size of the fuel tank sucks. It needs to be ten gallons. I was bone dry back at camp after about 72 miles. And the throttle pedal needs to be extended. I also have to agree that first gear needs to be lower, but I can live with it as is. But it did a great job holding back going down hill. Also lack of storage is an issue.

I have to say, that this machine is hands down the best I've ever owned, and I've had over ten ATV's and sxs's. It's just frikken awesome. I really don't feel that I even taxed it or worked it hard at all. I do not believe I even came close to its potential. I really give this a two thumbs up in the real world riding arena.