P1000 Can anyone help me identify this leak?

Bobby_BAS

Bobby_BAS

Apr 25, 2017
Stearns, KY
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I rode about 30 miles yesterday. Towards the end of the ride I was hearing a squeeking sound somewhere in the drive train. It sounded like when a brake pad squeeks going down a hill only it wasn't the brakes. Everything drove and shifted fine so I continued on home. When I moved my Pioneer in the garage a few minutes ago, I noticed this fluid underneath it. It's orange in color and is dripping down underneath the drivers side floor board area.

I'm just a YouTube mechanic so I'm not sure what I'm dealing with here. I got it up on ramps so I can pull the factory skid plate off after work tomorrow evening and investigate further. I had the clutch update done a month or two ago and really have rode it since until yesterday. 20180527 205738 20180527 205745 20180527 205814 20180527 210051

Reactions: BWAF
DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
Looks like BBQ sauce. Did you taste it?

Koda

Koda

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Dec 29, 2016
Canton Ga
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Check your steering column tilt cylinder. Mine puked some fluid out when it was new. Had the cylinder compressed when it happened. Hasn’t done it since.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bayouownbeer

Bayouownbeer

Lifetime Member
Jun 3, 2014
Chauvin LA
Ownership

1. 1000-5
If it has no smell and doesn’t have the consistency of oil then it has to be rusty water.

Reactions: Deluxe700 and BWAF
Bobby_BAS

Bobby_BAS

Apr 25, 2017
Stearns, KY
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Check your steering column tilt cylinder. Mine puked some fluid out when it was new. Had the cylinder compressed when it happened. Hasn’t done it since.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I will definitely check that!

advertisement
Bobby_BAS

Bobby_BAS

Apr 25, 2017
Stearns, KY
Ownership

1. 1000-5